MVP Sports Channel

Ray Cook Conquers SAS Racing Series Stars and Stripes 40 at Cleveland Speedway

By Michael Despain, SAS Public Relations

Cleveland, TN-July 13, 2013- The Southern All Star Racing Series would finally get to kick off the month of July with racing action at Cleveland Speedway in Cleveland, TN with the Stars and Stripes 40 and Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC would become the 7th different winner in ten series events to date in 2013 and claim the $4,000 payday aboard his A Plus Moving and Storage/American Racer/Integra Shocks sponsored #53 MasterSbilt Race Car powered by a Jay Dickens Race Engine.

The victory by Cook was his 11th career win with the Southern All Star Racing Series for the 42 year old Tarheel State native and his first Southern All Star Racing Series since winning The Gobbler at Cleveland Speedway in November of 2011.

Ray CookDerek Ellis and Ray Cook would bring the field to the green flag, with Cook taking the early lead with Ellis nipping at his heels, with Clint Smith, Jason Hiett, and Skip Arp giving chase.  Cook would begin to build his lead as the front three would start to work traffic by lap 8, with Smith taking second from Ellis.  Smith would close in on Cook in heavy traffic on lap 15, with Cook finally able to put a pair of lapped cars between himself and Smith prior to the caution waving on lap 19 for Riley Hickman who slowed in turn three with a flat right rear tire, with fifth place running Arp pulling pitside for the evening during the caution.  The restart would see Cook and Smith motor away from the pack while Hiett would begin to mount a charge on Smith from his third position as the final caution appeared on lap 27 for a spin by Michael Asberry.  Cook motored away from the field once again, while Smith had his hands full with Hiett, with Hiett taking the second position from Smith on lap 33.  Hiett would close in on Cook and pull alongside Cook in turn two on lap 37, but Cook would keep Hiett of at bay to claim the victory.  Hiett of Oxford, AL would take runner-up honors, while Smith of Senoia, GA claimed third.  Ninth-place starter Jake Knowles of Tyrone, GA would roll home in the fourth position, while Ellis of Chatsworth, GA would finish in the fifth position.

The remainder of the top ten in the Stars and Stripes 40 would be Brian Reese of Sharpsburg, GA, Aaron Ridley of Chatsworth, GA, Mike Weeks of Friendsville, TN, Bryan Hendrix of Knoxville, TN, and Josh Henry of Newport, TN.

The next Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series event is on Saturday July 20 and will take place at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, MS.  The event is the 10th Annual Coca-Cola Governor’s Cup and will pay $4,000 to the winner and $300 to start.

Further information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 924-4546, Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or you can log on to the official series website at . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT.

Southern All Star Racing Series Official Summary of Results

Cleveland Speedway/Cleveland, Tennessee
Round 10 of 2013 Season (July 13, 2013)
Southern All Star Racing Series Late Models

Stars and Stripes 40 A-Main Finish:
1.      Ray Cook- Brasstown, NC
2.      Jason Hiett- Oxford, AL
3.      Clint Smith- Senoia, GA
4.      Jake Knowles- Tyrone, GA
5.      Derek Ellis- Tyrone, GA
6.      Brian Reese- Sharpsburg, GA
7.      Aaron Ridley- Chatsworth, GA
8.      Mike Weeks- Friendsville, TN
9.      Bryan Hendrix- Knoxville, TN
10.     Josh Henry- Newport, TN
11.     Dusty Carver- Englewood, TN
12.     Chris Wilson- Crossville, TN
13.     Dylan Ames- Harvest, AL
14.     Michael Asberry- Crossville, TN
15.     Bret Holmes- Munford, AL
16.     Adam Beeler- Knoxville, TN
17.     Mark Rosner- Rockford, TN
18.     Skip Arp- Georgetown, TN
19.     Riley Hickman- Chattanooga, TN
20.     David Payne- Murphy, NC
21.     Bobby Giffin- Maryville, TN
22.     T.J. Alford- Piedmont, AL
23.     Ross White- Knoxville, TN

Yellow Flags: 2 (Lap 19, 27)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: 1 (Cook 1-40)
Time of Race: 20 minutes, 9 seconds
White Overall Top Qualifier: Ray Cook 13.254
Series Provisionals: None
Entries: 23
JT Kerr Racing Equipment Hard Charger of the Race: Aaron Ridley (started 13th- finished 7th:    advanced 6 positions)
AR Bodies Last Man on the Lead Lap: Chris Wilson (finished 12th)

PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdown #1:  Jake Knowles, Dusty Carver, Aaron Ridley, Chris Wilson, Adam Beeler, Bret Holmes, Ross White (DNS- David Payne)

PPM Racing Products Last Chance Showdown #2:  Bryan Hendrix, Josh Henry, Dylan Ames, Michael Asberry, Mark Rosner (DNS- T.J. Alford, Bobby Giffin)

Current Southern All Star Racing Series Top Ten Point Standings (after 7/13/2013)
1. Riley Hickman (Chattanooga, TN)-782
Mike Weeks (Friendsville, TN)-782
3. Mark Rosner (Rockford, TN)- 710
4. Bret Holmes (Munford, AL)- 678
5. Jason Hiett (Oxford, AL)- 656
6. Billy Ogle, Jr. (Knoxville, TN)- 562
7. Steve Casebolt (Richmond, IN)-432
8. Randy Weaver (Crossville, TN)- 406
9. Ray Cook (Brasstown, NC)- 380
10. Michael Asberry (Crossville, TN)- 376

Current Cruise With The Champions/ Rookie of the Year Point Standings (after 7/13/2013)
1. Mark Rosner (Rockford, TN)-250
2. Bret Holmes (Munford, AL)-247
3. Jason Hiett (Oxford, AL)-205

Southern All Star Racing Series 2013 Event Winners:
#1-Jared Landers-Batesville, AR (Cherokee Speedway) March 3rd
#2-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Cleveland Speedway) March 9th
#3-Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, GA (East AL Motor Speedway) March 16th
#4-Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, GA (Smoky Mountain Speedway) March 23rd
#5-Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN (Tazewell Speedway) April 6th
#6-Steve Casebolt (Cleveland Speedway) May 18
#7- Chris Madden (Volunteer Speedway) June 14
#8- Chris Madden (Smoky Mountain Speedway) June 15
#9- Randy Weaver (Talladega Short Track)- June 22
#10- Ray Cook (Cleveland Speedway)- July 13

Upcoming Southern All Star Racing Series Events:
July 20 Saturday Magnolia Motor Speedway/Columbus, MS $4,000 to win 40 laps (10th Annual Governors Cup)
July 27 Saturday Talladega Short Track/Eastaboga, AL $4,000 to win 40 laps (15th Annual Michael Head, Jr. Memorial)
August 3 Saturday Volunteer Speedway/Bulls Gap, TN $5,000 to win 50 laps (Herman Collin/Dewey “Red” Ledford Memorial

2013 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors:

  • Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Star Racing Series
  • Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Star Racing Series
  • Sunoco Race Fuel “The Official Racing Fuel” of the Southern All Star Racing Series

2013 Southern All Star Racing Series Supporters Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Cruise with the Champions,, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, Intercomp Racing Systems, JT Kerr Racing Equipment, MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products,, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Ed Lowe, The Joie of Seating,


Facebook Twitter Email