MVP Sports Channel

Murray State Basketball Added To Charleston Classic Lineup

Charleston Classic Home

Ticket Information

Murray StateThe 2012 Charleston Classic, presented by Foster Grant, will feature the Murray State men’s basketball team when the event is played at TD Arena in Charleston, S.C. (Nov. 15, 16-18).

The Racers and Auburn were added to a field that already included: Baylor, Boston College, Charleston, Colorado, Dayton and St. John’s.

Pairings for the event will be announced later.

Murray State is coming off a 31-2 season under first year head coach Steve Prohm and is added to an excellent field of teams in Charleston.

“We’re excited to be part of the Charleston Classic,” Prohm said. “We want to challenge our team with tough early-season games and the field they’ve assembled for this event is outstanding.  It’s also a great thing when we can showcase our program to a national television audience.”

The Charleston event is one of the tournaments that ESPN conducts. The Racers played in another ESPN event, the 76 Classic, in Anaheim, Calif, in 2010. The games in the Charleston Classic will be carried live on various ESPN channels.

The event will feature 12 games over three days with a bracket-tournament format with two teams meeting for the championship (Nov. 18). Each team will play three games in Charleston.

Clemson won the inaugural Charleston Classic in 2008. Other champions include: Miami (2009), Georgetown (2010) and Northwestern (2011).

For ticket information, call the College of Charleston Athletic Ticket Office at (843) 953-2632, or online:



Facebook Twitter Email