MVP Sports Channel

McDanel Paces Mocs in Second Round on Kiawah Island

Freshman Maddy McDanel was one better than yesterday for the Chattanooga Mocs with a 1-over 73 in the Edwin Watts Kiawah Island Spring Classic.


KIAWAH ISLAND—The Chattanooga Mocs women’s golf team shot 308 at Oak Point Golf Club in the second round of the Edwin Watts Kiawah Island Spring Classic. The 36-hole total of 613 is one behind UNF in 18th, and two clear of Jacksonville State in 20th.

Freshman Maddy McDanel continues to lead the way for the Mocs. Her 1-over par led the counters followed by Monica San Juan (76), Megan Woods (79) and Maria Pineiro (80).

McDanel is tied for 17th, two strokes out of the top 10 at 3 over for the tournament. San Juan is tied for 49th at +7. Woods comes in at 157 followed closely by Perez at 159.

Coastal Carolina moved into the lead at 584. That’s seven ahead of ETSU. College of Charleston’s Laura Fuenfstrueck is the individual leader at 6-under 138.

The Mocs return to Osprey Point Golf Club Tuesday for the final 18. They’ll make the trek with Marshall, UNF and Jacksonville State in an 8:45 a.m., shotgun start.

It was the third time this season McDanel shot the low round of the day for the Mocs. Her 73 included two birdies, 13 pars and three bogeys.

Statistical Leaders in Round Two

  • Eagles (Team: 1): Woods 1.
  • Birdies (8): McDanel/Woods/Pineiro/San Juan 2.
  • Par 3 Scoring (+7): McDanel/San Juan +1.
  • Par 4 Scoring (+15): McDanel E.
  • Par 5 Scoring (-2): Woods -3.

The Chattanooga Mocs golf program has won five Southern Conference Championships (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014) since restarting the program in 2007-08.
– 1 NCAA Championships Appearances: 2009.
– 8 NCAA Regional Appearances: 2008 (Emma de Groot), 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016 (Emily McLennan).
– 1 Olympian (Christine Wolf-2016 Austria).
– 15 WGCA All-American Scholars.
– 1 COSIDA Academic All-District (Maria Juliana Loza, 2012).
– 5 SoCon Champions: Emma de Groot (2011), Jordan Britt (2012), Agathe Sauzon (2013), Emily McLennan (2014) and Megan Woods (2016).
– 3 SoCon Golfers of the Year: de Groot (2011), Britt (2014) and McLennan (2016).
– 3 SoCon Freshman of the Years: de Groot (2008), Maria Salinas (2009) and McLennan (2013).
– 2 Ladies European Tour Pros: Wolf (2014, 2015, 2016) and Agathe Sauzon (2016). is the official website of the Chattanooga Mocs. Buy officially licensed gear in our online store. The Mocs can also be followed on their official Facebook page or on Twitter. Find out how to join the UTC Mocs Club and support more than 300 student-athletes by clicking here.

Facebook Twitter Email