MVP Sports Channel


UK Junior Catcher Named one of 36 Players in the NCAA on Dick Howser Trophy

May 18, 2012

STARKVILLE, Miss. — Kentucky junior catcher Luke Maile has been named a semifinalist for the 2012 Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, it was announced on Friday afternoon.


Luke Maile has set a new school record with 10 game-winning RBI in 2012.

A native of Crestview Hills, Ky., Maile is one of the 36 top players in college baseball named semifinalists for one of the most prestigious trophies in the nation. Maile is one of five Southeastern Conference honorees and one of four catchers in the nation tabbed to the Dick Howser Trophy list.

Maile has been a middle of the order slugger for the Wildcats throughout the season, batting .320 (64-for-200), with 12 doubles, 12 homers and 49 RBI. He owns a team-best 30 walks, stealing nine bases. The 6-foot-3, 210-pounder has helped UK to a historic season, as the Wildcats have won the second-most games (41) in school annals and the second-most SEC contests (18) in UK history.

The 2008 Kentucky High School Mr. Baseball and a draft pick of the Boston Red Sox out of High School, Maile ranks fourth in the SEC in homers, third in RBI, seventh in slugging percentage, 11th in walks and seventh in total bases. He has already set a new UK school record with 10 game-winning RBI in 2012, including a two-run walk-off homer in the bottom of the ninth inning to give UK a SEC-opening win over No. 2 South Carolina, with UK sweeping the Gamecocks.

Maile is also on the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Player of the Year Award Watch List, along with UK sophomore reliever Trevor Gott. UK freshman centerfielder Austin Cousino has been tabbed to the 22-man USA Collegiate National Team, starter Corey Littrell has been named to the College Baseball Hall of Fame National Pitcher of the Year Watch List, freshman A.J. Reed is on the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Watch List and Gott is a member of the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Watch List.

This is the 26th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the second year.  The award will be presented on Friday, June 15 at 11 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2012 CWS.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball’s most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser’s life.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser’s death.  Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010 and Taylor Jungmann, P, Texas, 2011.


Pos. Name, School

Mark Appel, P, Stanford

Robert Benincasa, RP, Florida State

Sean Bignall, OF, Arkansas-Little Rock

Trent Blank, P, Baylor

Austin Elkins, 2B, Dallas Baptist

Goose Kallunki, 1B, Utah Valley

Marty Gantt, OF, College of Charleston

Marco Gonzales, UT, Gonzaga

Andrew Heaney, P, Oklahoma State

Brock Hebert, 2B, Southeastern Louisiana

D.J. Hicks, 1B, UCF

Daniel Kassouf, DH, Appalachian State

Stefan Lopez, RP, Southeastern Louisiana

Michael Lorenzen, UT, Cal State Fullerton

Josh Ludy, C, Baylor

Luke Maile, C, Kentucky

Jamodrick McGruder, 2B, Texas Tech

Trenton Moses, 3B, Southeast Missouri

Chris O’Grady, RP, George Mason

D.J. Petersen, 3B, New Mexico

Nick Petree, P, Missouri State

Kevin Plawecki, C, Purdue

Danny Poma, OF, Hofstra

James Ramsey, OF, Florida State

Matthew Reckling, P, Rice

Carlos Rodon, P, NC State

Chris Rowley, P, Army

Raph Rhymes, OF, LSU

Zach Stephens, 1B, Tennessee Tech

Chris Stratton, P, Mississippi State

Ross Stripling, P, Texas A&M

Michael Wacha, P, Texas A&M

Michael Wagner, RP, San Diego

Alex Yarbrough, 2B, Ole Miss

Mike Zunino, C, Florida

Facebook Twitter Email