MVP Sports Channel

Spreen Named NAIA Men’s Basketball All-American


COLUMBIA, Ky. — Chase Spreen has been named National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Third Team All-American, NAIA officials announced on Wednesday.

Spreen completed his senior season leading the Blue Raiders in scoring (15.4) and free throw percentage (81.5). He ended the season shooting 44 percent from the field and 37.1 percent from behind the 3-point arc.

The selections are made by the NAIA Men’s Basketball Coaches’ Association All-America Committee and comprises a First, Second, Third and Honorable Mention Team. There are 10 members on each of the first three All-America teams.

Spreen helped the Blue Raiders to a 21-10 overall record in 2011-12 and a 12-4 Mid-South Conference mark. Lindsey Wilson captured the program’s first out-right MSC regular season title this season and its second overall title.

The Bedford, Ind., native, led Lindsey Wilson to the national tournament — its first appearance since the 2008-09 season where the Blue Raiders lost in the tournament’s opening round to Evangel (Mo.) University.

Spreen made national headlines this season when his 80-foot buzzer beater helped the Blue Raiders beat Georgetown (Ky.) College 79-78 on Jan. 14. He was selected as the MSC and NAIA Player of the Week following the week where he helped the Blue Raiders to a pair of wins.

The “Shot” went viral as the video received more than 1.4 million views on YouTube. It was shown nationally on several outlets including ESPN, CNN, Headline News, The Ellen DeGeneres Show and The Today Show.

Spreen concludes his career ranked 13th on the program’s all-time scoring list with 965 points. He is sixth all-time on the program’s career free throw percentage (80.3), seventh in 3-pointers (127) and ninth in games played (105).

Earlier this season, Spreen earned All Mid-South Conference honors, Academic All Mid-South Conference and Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athlete.
Spreen becomes Lindsey Wilson men’s basketball team’s ninth All-American and the first since the 2005-06 season.

Full story

Facebook Twitter Email